Happy 100th, Boy Scouts!

On February 8, 1910 the Boy Scouts of America was founded, and this year 2010 they are celebrating their 100th Anniversary! I am in my 10th year an Assistant Scoutmaster of troop 246 here in the Twin Rivers Council (yes, I even have the uniform).

The mission of scouting is reflected in the old Scout Oath and Law:

The Scout Oath
On my honor I will do my best
to do my duty to God and my country
and to obey the Scout Law;
to help other people at all times;
to keep myself physically strong,
mentally awake, and morally straight.

Scout Law
A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent.

When you consider these, I think you will agree that scouting is good for our young men and good for America. You can visit their national web site at http://www.scouting.org.

pdb

Leave a Reply

